About This Blog

Posted: August 27, 2013 in About, Pre-game

My name is Frau Koch. This blog is my personal investigation into narrative transmission (according to Genette) in video games. It is intented as a final project for a university course on New Media. I hope, as time permits, to play at least two different games and compare the experiences.

Please let me be clear – I have very little experience in playing video games. The last video game I clearly remember playing was Super Mario Bros. in the 1980s. I have read a lot recently about literary theory and video games, but I only really know the theory. Now it is time to put it to the test.

My goal here is to examine video games as narratives. How is the narrative transmitted? What is the role of narrator and focalization in telling a story?  How does interactivity change the narrative experience? Are video games an effective medium for story-telling? I hope to find some answers to these questions as I play and explore.

Also worth mentioning – what follows is to be qualitative rather than quantitative research. And, of course, it is based solely upon my individual gaming experience.

Leave a Reply

